Jun 27th, 2017

Posted On: Jun 27th, 2017
Posted By: Admin


More than 220 Athletic Administrators attended the annual IADA Conference held in  East Peoria, Illinois on May 1-3, 2017. The following is a recap of the Conference.

General Sessions:

Fabian Guerrero, a student/athlete from West Aurora did an excellent job of giving his insight of leadership from a student’s perspective.

Josh Whitman, Athletic Director from the University of Illinois, shared his thoughts on leadership and what he looks for in the hiring process.

Jim Roberts, Hall of Fame basketball Coach, from Batavia High School gave us his insights into what coaches were looking for from their AD.

 LTI Classes:

9 Different classes taught,   13 Different instructors with 120 Attendees

Mini Session Presented

14 Different topics presented by 15 Athletic Administrators and three outside Vendors.

    Awards Section

IADA Distinguished Service Award Winners:

Brad Byers, Prairie Central, Mike Mose, Mt. Zion, Dave Stephens , Plainfield Central

IADA Friends of Athletics Award Winners:

Fred Carter, Byron (Class 1/2A) and Nick Ladas, Maine West (Class3/4A)

IADA “Division” Athletic Directors of the Year Award Winners:

Division 1 – Jeff Niemiec Solario Academy (Class 1/2A)

Division 2 – Robert St. John Ridgewood (Class 1/2A)

Division 3 – Dan Jones Hinsdale Central (Class 3/4A)

Division 4 – Scott Daly Rockridge (Class 1/2/A)

Greg King Sterling (Class 3/4A)

Division 5 – Dan Sheehan Argenta-Oreana (Class1/2A)

David Woltman Effingham (Class 3/4A)

Division 6 – Adam Eucker Williamsville (Class1/2A)

Herb Knoblauch Washington (Class 3/4A)

Division 7 – Chad Cruthis Lebanon (Class 1/2A)

Richard Glodich Frankfort Community (Class 3/4A)

IADA Athletic Directors of the Year Award Winners:

Tom Schergen, IC Catholic Prep (Class1/2A) and Steve Rockrohr, Glenbrook South (Class3/4A)

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees:

Marilyn Bradley , Glenbrook North, Jimmy Daniels, Rich Central/East, and Rich Piatchek, Andrew

IADA Retirees:

Barb Barrows, Neuqua Valley, Greg Colingwood, Eisenhower, Richard Glodich, Frankford Community, Dan Hennessey, St. Thomas More

Jim Kafer, Geneva, Mike Lenning, Bradley Bourbonnais, Hans Meyer , Iroquois West, Debbie Ofcky, New Trier, John Overstreet , Paxton-Buckley-Loda, Drew Potthoff, McHenry/Marian Central, Jean Rezny, Prospect, Todd Rosenthal, Moline

NIAAA State Award of Merit Winner:

Briant Kelly, Libertyville

NIAAA Frank Kovaleski Professional Development Award Winner:

Becky Moran, Argo Community

NIAAA Hall of Fame Nominee:

John Van Fleet, Retired-Woodstock

NIAAA Distinguished Service Award Nominee:

John Woods, Champaign Central

NIAAA Scholar Essay Award Winners:

Riley Burr, Hinsdale Central and Ben Zinn, Normal West

John Van Fleet Scholarship Award Winners:

Madelyn Mackey, Geneseo and Cole Steward, Salem Community


All contents © 2015 Illinois Athletic Directors Association All rights reserved. www.www.swoada.org